Being Defined By God

Well, on my walk today, I had a talk with the wind. I do that quite frequently, discussing the weather, friends, and such. Today was a more…deep, soul-searching conversation. I've come to the conclusion that I've been letting guys define me. Or rather, letting guys' opinions of me define me. I've been letting other people determine who I am and how I feel about myself. When I do that, though, I'm putting their opinions above God's. I'm basically saying, "God, your opinion is a lot, and I'm glad you love me, but I need to have their approval more." Which is a total load of junk. All that matters is God's opinion. And the people who know me and care about me, they don't care about the outside. They care about what God cares about: the heart.

3 thoughts on “Being Defined By God

  1. You nailed it linds… absolutely nailed it. Man, I love realizing that I have really great friends. Anyway, hope you can see God working through you as much as I can.

  2. Here, let me give you an example of why this is SOOO important.. i have a friend on my soccer team, who always indentified herself as soccer. She was… a soccer player. When she lost her position on the team her whole self-esteem and personality all crumbled. She feels like she’s drowning because what she thought she was, didn’t work out in the end. I’ve lost my position before, and I could do it again, because I don’t identify myself with soccer. Think about it. It really happens…

Leave a Reply

