Faith Without Actions

I’ve been thinking a lot lately. I do that, when there’s nothing better to do. Something in particular has been weighing on my mind. The Bible teaches that all that is required to get into Heaven is faith in the Christ. I found that kind of depressing. You’re shocked, I’m sure. Well, I was thinking: what about those who believe, but do nothing? What about those who believe, but live a life other than what is taught in the Scripture? Well, reading my Bible, I found the passage I needed. Faith without action is dead. It’s dead. Worthless. So does that mean that those who believe but do nothing will still get into heaven? Even demons believe. You don’t have to agree, but I think that what’s required is not necessarily a perfect life, or even close. I think you need a willing heart. You need to try. I believe that that is what He asks of us.

2 thoughts on “Faith Without Actions

  1. I think that belief is not faith. If you have a true relationship with Christ, you can’t just believe. He puts the need in you to live your faith, not just think it. Like you said, you have to try. If you believe and do nothing, I don’t think you have a real relationship with Christ. A relationship with Him should gradually change everything about you, not just what goes on in your head. Your thoughts, actions, words–everything. Like the debate of faith vs. works. I think faith results in good works, in a life pleasing to Him. So my answer to the Heaven question is no…

    Just my thoughts.

  2. Those that talk the talk but don’t walk the walk won’t go to Heaven. To put your faith in Christ is to put your life into His hands and to say “I am doing it your way , not mine.” That means acting out your faith and living your life according to what Christ commands of us in His word. Faith and works go hand-in-hand. If you truly have faith in Christ and have given Him your life, then your actions will show it. It’s that simple.

Leave a Reply

