Writing Week 2

Topic: Top 5 things that identify who you are

I’ll be honest with you. I’m not sure where this is going or how I’m going to do it. The topic isn’t exactly easy if you haven’t thought about it before, or if you aren’t sure which direction you’re going to tackle it. So, I suppose I’ll just dive in. What’s the point in just staring at the ocean and not getting wet?

Numero Uno would be something you could find in the dictionary. Actually, you could find it anywhere. Look around you. Unless you’re in a padded room, you can probably see it. If I were to be grammatically correct, I would type “them” instead of “it.” If you don’t live inside my head, you probably don’t have a clue as to what I’m talking about. It’s one word…and that’s just it.

Words.

Words, intricately twined throughout the universe, giving us meaning. So much comes from words, but this is supposed to be describing me. So, you might think that words describe everybody, because descriptions are words. My love of words goes beyond their meaning. The words themselves, the way “beautiful” caresses the lips as it is spoken into life, the way “incandescence” shines as it pours itself into being…all of this is wonderful to me. The sheer spunkiness of “spunky” just radiates off the page or in my ears. Words in all languages, hellos and goodbyes of French, Italian, Spanish…all are so incredible. Before I use up all my words, I should move on to a new topic.

Relationships.Immediately, my thoughts jump to that mushy gushy romance. However, that’s not what I mean by relationships. Instead, I mean interaction with others. My friends are a huge part of my life, and I have the need for human interaction. I love to be around my friends, whether it’s hanging out at somebody’s house or shopping at the mall. It’s all about who you’re with, not where you are. While the relationship with my boyfriend is important, it’s the relationships with my friends that will last and grow stronger and help with the most important relationship: the one I have with Jesus Christ. If I didn’t have this relationship, I know that I wouldn’t be the person I am today. No, I’m not claiming to be anywhere near perfect, but I have faith in coming perfection.

Color.While this not might make much sense right now, bare with me until I can explain. Color expresses everything. Mood, feelings, personality…it’s all there, in the color. If you see me often, you know I have a fondness for pink and black. Together. Separately, they’re just two colours. (Yes…I’m using the British spelling…I can’t resist any longer.) But when you put them together, they express more than I could on my own. Perhaps I look like a wannabe emo kid, but I like the sober tone of black mixed with the joyful vibrance of pink.

This next one might amuse you. My hair.It’s actually quite simple. I’m a blonde, inside and out. No common sense, and no hope of any coming any time soon.

Finally, this one should be pretty obvious. It compliments the first one in a way, for where would words be without music? Music can tell the story of my life with or without words. It gives a voice to things that were inexpressible before. Most people who know me know my love of music. Seriously…I would be lost without it.

So, I don’t think this is what Emily was looking for, but it’s all I came up with. Sorry for the late start…I wanted to start it on Sunday, but that’s okay. 🙂 God bless!

2 thoughts on “Writing Week 2

Leave a Reply

