The Exception

I’ve always enjoyed being the exception. Who doesn’t? With rules, there aren’t supposed to be exceptions. But we all know that there are. There’s that one person who gets away with anything, no matter what they do. Authorities turn a blind eye, faults get overlooked. Everybody likes knowing they can get away with whatever they want.

I stay close enough to life’s background to be the exception occassionally. School rules are pretty easy to sneak pass when you don’t make a big deal about it. But I thought I was the exception in other ways. I thought I was mature, capable of making informed decisions. I thought I could plan out my life, taking the reigns in my own hands. I thought I’d be the exception: I knew the meaning of love. But there was one thing I didn’t think. I didn’t think that sometimes, it’s not up to me. Sometimes, my world takes a turn that definitely wasn’t on my list of goals. So much for being the exception there.

But, there’s a place where I can be the exception, all the time. Or at least a part of the exception. As this world grows darker and darker, sinking deeper into Satan’s grasp, it’s time for Christians to be the exception. We can’t give in to the religious pluralism and relativism of this postmodern culture. There is one truth, one way. There simply are not multiple ways to salvation. Jesus Christ is the only way to God. And I want to show this in my life. I don’t want to be another face blending into the background, conforming to the pattern of this world. I want to be the exception.

Leave a Reply

