Crime & Punishment

Personal training is kicking my butt. Monday was Day 2. We worked mostly with weights. Needless to say, I could barely lift my arms yesterday. The soreness is dissipating slowly today, but I’m sure it will come back tomorrow, as Day 3 starts at 4 p.m. today. This week has been insanely busy for me, and it’s just now Wednesday. I had to cut some events out of my schedule (like sleeping) just to keep myself sane. I’m considering joining Phi Sigma Pi, which is a National Honor Fraternity. I already missed the first Rush event due to time (and energy) constraints. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, I have class until 4:45 p.m. The first Rush event was from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., and the UK v. Ole Miss game started at 7. We had tickets, and have had tickets for a while. I figured I could do it all..then remembered that I needed to eat at some point, or I’d pass out. So I cut out making Valentine’s cards for kids in the UK Hospital. Yeah, I’m that heartless.

My honors professor keeps causing conflict for me. His class isn’t supposed to be one on “religion,” per say, but “culture.” However, he certainly expresses no qualms about giving his own opinion of religious “fundamentalists” or any other group of people he disagrees with. He seems to be a relativistic Catholic who believes all paths lead to God, but Christianity is the “best” way. According to him, God doesn’t punish, because God is good.

I have so many issues with that statement. No, God doesn’t cause earthquakes in Haiti because they made a “deal with the Devil.” No, God didn’t send Katrina or the 9/11 terrorist attacks. But God does punish, and he punishes out of love. There are consequences for human actions. Parents discipline their beloved children; discipline is a necessity. It’s not “evil” or wrong. Punishment is a way to learn from mistakes. Maybe God punishes some through natural consequences, but in the stories of the Old Testament (and through Jesus in the New Testament), God directly disciplined His people. Discipline and punishment are instruction. They are teachers. A child who disobeys is punished, especially when disobedience could lead to harm.

Homework has currently taken a backseat to my social life. I’m not sure if this a good thing or not. This weekend will mostly consist of frantic catch-up. Actually, it’d be pretty awesome if I could get ahead. I have a couple papers I need to write in the next week or so, as well as multiple tests to study for. College would be so much more fun without all the classes.

Leave a Reply

