Dirt, Theft, and Malfunctions

Sunday morning was quite eventful. I managed to wake myself by 7 a.m. and leave the house with most of my belongings by 8:30 a.m. Signing forms and receiving keys for the apartment went by smoothly enough. Then I actually got to my building. My mother had already been unloading some of my stuff while I was stuck with the paperwork. She was a bit peeved when I got there. The apartment was dirty. As I type this, my feet are black from just walking on the carpet. How nasty is that? We’ve vacuumed multiple times and mopped the hardwood floors. These apartments are only 1 year old. They shouldn’t be dirty. Well, there was also a wasp’s nest above the door, thankfully either abandoned for some reason or just left alone.  The cable wasn’t working on the television because, lo and behold, whoever was here before just took the actual, physical cable with them. The stove top rattles and the burners smoke. The dryer is dirty on the inside. My bathroom had to be scrubbed down at least twice before it was usable.

Move-in nightmares. Suffice it to say I’m a little tired of calling about maintenance issues. At least the cable is fixed now, if nothing else. It’s been a long couple of days. I’m ready for Friday to be here. Yay for state fairs and date nights. 🙂 Right now, I’m going through one of my roommates’ cookbooks and marking possible recipes. Our kitchen is somewhat lacking in supplies. We have basic essentials and a ton of snack food, but not much else. I can only handle mac ‘n cheese for so long.

Leave a Reply

