In light of the recent gay teen suicides…

As a little girl, my mother always taught me to look a situation from the other person’s perspective. I was a big fan of making other people happy. I could step into someone else’s shoes, see just why they reacted the way they did. As I grew older, my empathy grew, but so did my prejudice. My private Christian school was a breeding ground for hatred. Instead of “love the sinner, hate the sin,” “love the repentant sinner, hate the people you think are wrong” proliferated through the classrooms.

Recently, there have been multiple suicides caused by homophobic abuse. This is clearly unacceptable, no matter which way you look at it. Some people argue that hey, they chose to end their lives. It’s their own problem. No. This is our COUNTRY’s problem. It is a HUMAN problem. And I’m not referring to gay teen suicides alone; this tragedy generalizes to the entire population. No group should be the target of hate. Nobody should feel so alone that they’d rather take their own life than live to face the world the next morning. We need to reach out to each other and notice each other’s pain. Instead of offering up our judgments, we should walk in somebody else’s shoes understand their thoughts. Human pain is everybody’s problem. No matter our views on “right” or “wrong,” we shouldn’t harass or bully, or even ignore, someone simply because of their sexual orientation. They aren’t hurting anybody, so even if we think they’re “living in sin,” we have no right to judge them. Judge not, lest ye be judged. Jesus took in the worst sinners. He forgave everyone, and to Him, all sins are equal. If I get angry with my parents, I’ve done the same in God’s eyes as someone who had sex before marriage. We should show God’s love. God’s judgment is reserved for Him alone.

Leave a Reply

