Never Say Goodbye

My boyfriend leaves for California tomorrow, where he’ll be staying for three months. Needless to say, I’m not terribly thrilled to be left festering in the Bluegrass State. I’m incredibly happy for him, and he definitely deserves it. I just wish the same opportunities were open for me, too. (Yes, I know I’m turning green.)

So here I am, back at home for the summer, trying to find a second job to supplement the meager wages from the job I’ve worked at for nearly four excruciating years. I’ve heard much about people losing their jobs or getting reprimanded over opinions voiced via internet, so I’m not naming any names or anything here. All I’m saying is that I wish I’d get paid more than $0.18 over minimum wage after 3.5 years of work where I actually do more than stare blankly at the floor wasting time.

I need to pick up a hobby, fast. I doubt I’ll be able to find a second job when I need so much vacation time off and can only work for the summer. So more than likely, I’ll be bored when I’m not at work. Blogging is a bit of a hobby, but really not enough to keep me entertained. Perhaps I’ll really get into photography, or start exercising like I’ve always meant to.

I miss the old day, when summer meant freedom and no worries. When summer meant swimming pools, tank tops, and bare feet. Now all summer means is boredom, loneliness, and exhaustion.

Leave a Reply

