I Work Out

This post is inspired by Pinterest. Okay, it’s been on my mind way since way before Pinterest, but it wasn’t quite as apparent. Weight loss and fitness programs proliferate on my Pinterest feed, along with recipes, quotes, and DIY crafts that I could never hope to create. There is certainly an obesity problem in probably all “1st world” countries, but most certainly in America. I’m from the South, so I see this on a daily basis. Weight loss programs and lifestyle changes geared towards fixing this major health crisis are all well and good, and I’m glad they exist.

However, there’s also the opposite extreme, which seems to affect a lot more of the females than the males. Now, it’s not enough to be thin. You have to be thin, toned, and tan. Even if you’re not a model, you’re supposed to look like your only job is to workout at the gym all day. Have the perfect abs (but not too much, you don’t want to look masculine!), defined arms, zero body fat.

Not only is this ENORMOUS pressure to put on the ladies of our society, is it even really “healthy”? According to Pinterest, being “healthy” is in. But is being “healthy” the same thing as killing yourself in the gym, and spending a minimum of 6 hours a week working out, counting every calorie, and investing so much time in one’s self? I get it; to some people, working out is a hobby. Going to the gym may be as relaxing as watching tv for some people, or as exhilarating as riding roller coasters at theme parks. But I just can’t help but think that my time would be better spent doing something else. I try not to overeat (too often), and I do try to exercise a few times a week. I loved my zumba class, and would definitely do it again. I just don’t see the point in revolving your whole life around some concept of fitness.

Remember, this is coming from the girl with lovehate-handles and a sweet tooth the size of Montana, so take my words with a grain of salt.

Leave a Reply

