Why I Stopped Online Dating

I know it’s been quite a while since I’ve said anything about my dating experiences. So here’s a quick summary to catch you up.

A few real life dates happened. First one actually went really well. Nice restaurant, a few drinks afterward…good conversation. I felt awkward, but that’s a given. There were actually multiple dates with the same person afterward, BUT things happened involving the rear bumper on my car (among other things) that made this whole relationship not work out. 

I had only one date with Dude #2. You see, he told me about how he was super into fitness and how he eliminated most of the sugar from his diet. And he totally judged me for drinking sweet tea. I could see it in his eyes. No way, honey. I’m hardly a southerner, but I’m adamant about my sweet tea AND my sugar.

The real reason I got rid of my online dating profile is that I started exclusively dating someone else, someone I met through another online source. Of course, that didn’t really work out either. That wound is still a little fresh, so I won’t elaborate. 

Anyway, online dating got to be overwhelming. Flipping through profiles and reading messages took up too much of my time, and I have precious little free time available as is. I think I’m trying too hard, and the other people I was interacting with were also trying too hard. There’s no point in trying to force something that isn’t going to happen. Online dating might be an awesome resource for some people, and I may go back to it in the future. But it seems like guys in my age range who are using online dating just aren’t what I need. 

Of course, I reserve the right to change my mind at any time. 

2 thoughts on “Why I Stopped Online Dating

  1. I enjoyed your post – I can totally empathise with you finding online dating overwhelming – I did too, I could only do it for about a month at a time before needing a rest. It does take up so many hours and is hard work trying to converse with men who don’t seem to have grasped basic conversational skills yet. And of course Mr Right not showing up is a bit depressing too.

    I hope you do come back to it fresh sometime – I took time out and made some changes to my approach and started again in Feb 13. The first bloke I met is now my husband!! See my blog if you want to know the whole story 🙂

    Good luck!

Leave a comment